(Apr. 14, 2022)
The state will make a judgment call about to whom to issue a concealed carry permit after the resident has completed the application and met the requirements. Some states will only issue permits to residents, while others will issue to some non-residents, such as members of the military
The state will issue a concealed carry permit to any person who applies and meets the requirements. Some states will only issue permits to residents, while others will issue permits to some or all non-residents.
No permits are issued, however the state allows concealed carry.
Please note that “shall issue” states may not require permits, also making them “constitutional carry” states. If a state issues permits, the state has been categorized first by permit issuance. As of Apr. 14, 2022, Vermont is the only state that never issues permits.
In many “constitutional carry” states permits will be issued upon request and completion of requirements for purposes of reciprocity (concealed carry in other states) or other reasons. If a state is marked “no permit” and “residents only,” the state will only issue permits to residents, but non-residents may be able to carry without a permit.
We do not track concealed weapons permits reciprocity (the ability to carry in a state other than that of residence). So, some non-residents may be able to concealed carry in states that only issue permits to residents if that state does not require permits. We also do not track temporary reciprocity permits.
|Shall Issue Permits||May Issue Permits||Permits Issued to Residents Only||Permits Issued to Residents & Some or All Non-Residents||No Permit Required|
(also called "constitutional carry")
|Non-Resident Permit Requirements|
|Alabama||x||x||x||Alabama's constitutional carry law goes into effect on Jan. 1, 2023.|
|California||x||x||Non-residents who work in the state and active-duty military stationed in the state.|
|Connecticut||x||x||Non-residents with a license/permit issued by a state that Georgia honors.|
|Illinois||x||x||Residents of Arkansas, Idaho, Mississippi, Nevada, Texas and Virginia.|
|Indiana||x||x||Non-residents with valid state license.|
|Kansas||x||x||x||Members of the military stationed in Kansas.|
|Kentucky||x||x||x||Military personnel stationed in Kentucky.|
|Michigan||x||x||Non-residents that are at least 21 years old and who have licenses/permits from their state of residency.|
|Mississippi||x||x||x||Non-resident with a valid permit from another state, active duty member of the military stationed in Mississippi or be a retired law enforcement officer establishing residency in the state.|
|Missouri||x||x||x||Active military duty or veterans who are at least 18 years old and stationed in Missouri.|
|Nebraska||x||x||Military personnel and their spouses stationed in Nebraska.|
|New Mexico||x||x||Members of the military permanently stationed in New Mexico and their dependents.|
|New York||x||x||Part-time residents or anyone who is principally employed or has their principal place of business in the state.|
|North Carolina||x||x||Members of the military permanently posted in North Carolina.|
|North Dakota||x||x||x||Full-time active military duty stationed in ND and non-residents if they have a concealed carry permit from their home state, which must have reciprocity with North Dakota.
Adults that have been residents for at least 30 days and are not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm and for non-residents with a valid resident concealed carry license from a state that North Dakota honors.
|Ohio||x||x||x||Non-residents can obtain a permit if they work in Ohio.
Ohio's constitutional carry law, signed on Mar. 15, 2021, goes into effect 91 days after the law is filed by the Secretary of State.
|Oklahoma||x||x||x||Military personnel and their spouses stationed in Oklahoma only.|
|Oregon||x||x||Non-residents who live in contiguous states may apply for a permit.|
|Pennsylvania||x||x||Non-residents must already have a permit to carry in their home state in order to obtain a Pennsylvania license.|
|Rhode Island||x||x||Non-residents that have a permit from their home state may apply for a permit through local law enforcement.|
|South Carolina||x||x||Non-residents who own property in the state and military personnel stationed in South Carolina.|
|South Dakota||x||x||x||Members of the military and their spouses stationed in South Dakota.|
|Tennessee||x||x||x||Non-residents may apply for a permit if they work in the state on a regular basis and hold a valid concealed carry permit in their home state. They can only make an application after being employed for six months and then only within six months after the initial six-month work period.|
|Utah||x||x||x||Non-residents at least 21 years of age who have a permit from their home state may also apply for permits.|
|Vermont||x||Vermont does not issue or require permits.|
|Wisconsin||x||x||Military personnel stationed in Wisconsin.|
Kelsey Gibbs, “Constitutional Carry Law Goes into Effect July 1,” newschannel5.com, July 1, 2021
Jamiel Lynch and Aya Elamroussi, “Alabama Becomes the 22nd State to Allow People to Carry Concealed Guns without Permit,” cnn.com, Mar. 11, 2022
USA Carry, “Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity Map,” usacarry.com, Mar. 12, 2019
US Concealed Carry Association, “USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws by State,” usconcealedcarry.com (accessed Jan. 11, 2022)
Wikipedia, “Constitutional Carry,” wikipedia.org (accessed Apr. 9, 2021)
Reid Wilson, “Ohio Governor Signs Permitless Concealed Carry Bill,” thehill.com, Mar. 15, 2022
Andy Rose and Theresa Waldrop, “Georgia Governor Signs Bill Allowing Most Residents to Carry a Concealed Gun without a Permit,” cnn.com, Apr. 12, 2022
|More Gun Debates|
|Is Gun Ownership an Individual Right Guaranteed by the Second Amendment?|
|Are Gun Stores Essential Businesses during a Pandemic?|
|Should Schools Be Gun-Free Zones?|