Concealed Carry Permit Laws by State

Source: "Concealed Carry Permit Information by State," (accessed Sep. 9, 2015)


Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, and Wyoming - Allow for concealed carry without a permit as long as you are legally able to own a firearm and are 21 years of age or older. [1][7]

Arkansas and Montana - Allow for concealed carry without a permit, but not everywhere. [1]

California - On Feb. 3, 2014, a three-judge Ninth Circuit panel held in Peruta v. San Diego that the Second Amendment secures a right to carry guns in public places. On Nov. 12, 2014, that same three-judge panel ruled that the State of California and the Brady Campaign has no standing to intervene in the case, leaving the original ruling in place. [4]

Washington DC - On July 26, 2014, Senior US District Court Judge Frederick J. Scullin Jr. overturned Washington, DC's complete ban on carrying handguns outside the home for self-defense. On July 29, 2014 he issued a 90-day stay on his decision. On Sep. 23, 2014, the District of Columbia passed emergency legislation to set up the framework for approving concealed weapons permits, and on Oct. 23, 2014 the District of Columbia began accepting concealed carry permit applications. The District of Columbia appealed Judge Scullin's ruling, [2][3] and then on Apr. 2, 2015, DC dismissed its appeal and officially became a "may issue" area. [6]

Vermont - Allows for concealed carry without a permit and does not issue permits. [5]


[1] Associated Press, "Kansas to Allow Residents to Carry Concealed Guns Without Permit,", Apr. 3, 2015

[2] David Kopel, "Licensed Handgun Carry Now Legal in District of Columbia: Palmer v. DC," Washington Post, July 28, 2014

[3] Ann E. Marimow and Peter Hermann, "Judge Puts D.C. Handgun Ruling on Hold," Washington Post, July 29, 2014

[4] California Rifle and Pistol Association, "Peruta v. San Diego 9th Court Decision," (accessed June 4, 2015)

[5], "Vermont,", Mar. 1, 2015

[6] California Right to Carry, "Palmer v. District of Columbia," (accessed Sep. 9, 2015)

[7] David Sherwood, "Maine Allows Gun Owners to Carry Concealed Weapons without Permit,", July 8, 2015